Posted by: bettythebalancer | November 2, 2009

Sunday Night Means Business.

On Sunday nights, I try to do a little prepwork in anticipation of the long work week ahead.  Tonight, I started by spending an hour on the bike trainer in my living room while watching a movie:

Bike Trainer

(Yes, I put the front wheel on black binders because I was too cheap to buy the piece you’re supposed to put your front wheel on!  But, the binders work fine.)

Then, I got to work in the kitchen.  I hard-boiled four eggs, which I bring to work as snacks; I pressed my tofu, which makes it easier to cook with; I peeled some carrots that need to get eaten this week; and I made a batch of quick-cooking Success brown rice.

Carrots

Success Rice

Then, I used the brown rice to make dinner — a deconstructed burrito.  This morning’s sauteed veggies were still on my mind, so I recreated them! I sauteed spinach, red bell pepper, garlic, mushrooms, and grape tomatoes with tofu, extra virgin olive oil, kosher salt, and freshly ground black pepper.  I served it with a scoop of the brown rice, topped the whole plate with some shredded cheddar cheese, and ate a whole wheat tortilla on the side. Enjoying a glass of pinot noir with it!

Deconstructed Burrito

Finally, I packed tomorrow’s breakfast, lunch, and snacks!  This has to power me through a solid 12+ hours:

  • Nonfat plain Greek yogurt, which will be topped with half a honeycrisp apple, and Nature’s Path granola.  I added sliced almonds and flaxseed to the granola.
  • Brown rice topped with leftover sauteed veggies and tofu, with a scoop of herbed goat cheese on top
  • Carrot sticks
  • A hard-boiled egg
  • String cheese
  • A Luna Berry Almond bar — a new flavor for me!

Meal

Enjoy what’s left of your weekend!

Responses

  1. I always precook brown rice too- it’s so nice for later in the week.

  2. I know, it’s such a good “extender” for everything else I eat!


Leave a Reply

Categories

