Posted by: bettythebalancer | November 3, 2009

Small Victories, Big Salad!

I take a lot of pride in small victories.

And today is a small victory:  I made it to the gym this morning before work and did my (slow) 3.5 mile run on the treadmill; I ate my packed breakfast and lunch and snacks;  and I just made a nutrition-packed salad for dinner.  These don’t seem like a big deal, but I’m proud that I stuck to my routine today.  And check out that salad, baby!

Big Dinner Salad

This killer had a handful of spinach, some diced tomato, a few tablespoons of brown rice, diced scallion, diced red bell peppers, a tablespoon of goat cheese, shredded carrot, a little avocado, chopped cucumber, and … a skillet-cooked, crumbled Dr. Praeger’s veggie burger.  Those Dr. Praeger’s burgers are my absolute favorite, but they sure do crumble when you cook ’em 😦  Makes them a great salad topper, though.

I plan to swim a structured half mile in the morning, and I am greatly looking forward to it. My next triathlon is in at the end of November, so it’s time to BUILD, BUILD, BUILD while work is relatively calm … my work days are going to get longer right in time for my taper.  Convenient!  🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

